Personal Development

The Personal Development Curriculum empowers students with the essential skills, experiences, knowledge and attitudes that are required to lead healthy lives

It also teaches students how to deal with spiritual, moral, social and cultural issues and also take responsibility for their own learning and career choices.

Key Stage 3

Futures is a highly interactive subject where students have the opportunity to plan and invest in their own education through engaging in real life learning experiences. Students will focus on four skill areas:

  1. Presenting
  2. Evaluating
  3. Independent learning
  4. Team work

Health Education:
The Health Curriculum is delivered in Science lessons in year 7, 8 and 9. Health lessons support the Science Curriculum whilst exploring personal skills and attitudes related to a range of health issues. Statutory Sex and Relationships Education (SRE) are included in these lessons.

Religious Studies:
In year 7 students learn about Citizenship and Religious Studies combined in a scheme of work called “The Island” where they build a community from scratch, including voting for a leader, making laws, rites of passage and religious teachers. Students work predominantly in groups where they create presentations and share their ideas with the class.

In year 8 students learn religious traditions, beginning with Judaism, the life of Jesus, Christian faith in action and Eastern beliefs.

Key Stage 4

The Insight course is designed to prepare students to manage many of the most critical opportunities, challenges and responsibilities they will face in a rapidly changing world. Students complete five modules in each year, for example:

  • Health
  • Careers
  • Money
  • First Aid
  • Faith and emotional well-being

The modules are taught by specialist teachers and supported by outside organisations such as the police, school nurses and local employers.

Students will have the opportunity to attend college one day per week and partake in the Venture course. The Venture course incorporates the John Muir Award, which is an environmental scheme focused on wild places. It encourages awareness and responsibility for the natural environment, in a spirit of fun, adventure and exploration.

The award is an educational initiative that has four key strands: discover, explore, conserve and share.

Key Stage 5

Health and Social Care